WIRED: “Yeah, I’m Autistic. You got a problem with that?”

[UPDATE: (thanks to codeman38 for the heads-up) This article is now available in standard online format (under a new title), for your viewing pleasure and convenience: The Truth About Autism: Scientists Reconsider What They Think They Know. Enjoy!]

The latest issue of WIRED Magazine has a new article on Autistic intelligence. Discussed are Amanda Baggs‘ YouTube videos, and Michelle Dawson‘s collaboration with Laurent Mottron, among others. Excellent article — another must-read for the self-advocacy community … and an unequivocal in-your-face at the bulk of mainstream research and professions.

Blurb and links:

Traditional science holds that people with severe autism are prisoners in their own minds, severely disabled, and probably mentally retarded. Don’t tell that to Amanda Baggs, an autistic woman who achieved viral fame with her YouTube video “In My Language,” which has so far received more than 350,000 hits. Wired contributor David Wolman gets inside the life that Baggs has created for herself, which includes blogging, hanging out in Second Life, corresponding with her friends, and a “constant conversation” with the world around her. Wolman’s conclusion: Much of past research about autism and intelligence is catastrophically flawed…

Main page for March, 2008 issue:
http://www.wired.com/services/press/2008/march

Full article [PDF], “Yeah, I’m Autistic. You got a problem with that?”:
http://www.wired.com/images/press/pdf/autism.pdf

PS: PASS IT ON. ;-)

2 Responses to WIRED: “Yeah, I’m Autistic. You got a problem with that?”

  1. codeman38 says:

    The article is now available in standard HTML format on Wired’s site as well.

    Anyone with Digg accounts, feel free to Digg it. ^_^

  2. Laura says:

    Hi,
    I linked to your blog via AutismVox. I’m NT, and my son was just diagnosed last month.

    Your post on AutismVox was brilliant. I was cheering. I believe in neurodiversity 100%. I was going to post the contrarian view over there, but you did it 100 times better than I ever could.

    You’re not speaking to deaf ears. That is, as a parent, I hear you, and I’m going to give my son the respect he deserves and attempt to understand him, not “cure” him.

    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

